U.S. Business Holidays

Although businesses located in the United States are not legally required to observe religious, state or national holidays, nearly all U.S. businesses observe the seven following holidays and typically follow the federal holiday calendar.

* When a holiday falls on a Saturday, it is usually observed on the preceding Friday. When it falls on a Sunday, it is usually observed on the following Monday.

The information presented is intended for reference only and is neither tax nor legal advice. Consult a professional tax, legal or other advisor to verify this information and determine if and/or how it may apply to your particular situation.

Some businesses in the U.S. also create additional employee holidays, such as the employee’s birthday or floating holidays. An employer may also observe one or more of the following holidays based on industry, custom, or tradition:

  • New Year’s Eve
  • Presidents Day
  • Easter
  • Columbus Day
  • Christmas Eve